VigilantBear: Strengthen privacy while connecting and reconnecting

Our VigilantBear feature is designed to keep your location and data private in the brief seconds while TunnelBear is connecting and reconnecting. If TunnelBear loses connection for some reason (ie: you move between WiFi networks, or you’re out of network range briefly), it’s designed to automatically reconnect as soon as it detects the internet again. VigilantBear protects you in these brief seconds while TunnelBear is reconnecting.

Currently the VigilantBear feature is available on Windows, Mac, and Android. This feature is only available on Android devices running on Lollipop (5.0) or later. For more details on how to use the VigilantBear feature, see this article



Troubleshooting issues with VigilantBear

You won't be able to enable VigilantBear if your computer is running a custom proxy. Sometimes software similar to TunnelBear can be responsible for making these types of changes. Please ensure that all other third party security apps or VPN services are disabled before trying again. 

IMPORTANT: On some networks, a custom proxy may be required to access the internet (without TunnelBear), so please check with your network administrator or ISP before disabling or changing any custom proxy settings if you’re not sure where they came from!

For more information on how to check your proxy settings on macOS, please head here.