Creating your Team
How do I create a new team?
How do I add new team members?
You can add members to your team using the Invite button at the top of your account. If you chose domain sign-up, anyone who registers for a TunnelBear account with an email address matching your email domain (for example: email@example.com) will automatically be added to your team.Visit/Rate Article
What is domain sign-up?
Domain sign-up allows you to easily add team members by pre-authorizing your email domain, so that anyone with an email address from that domain is automatically added to your team when they sign up.
For example, if your website is www.grizzlybearcorp.com, the employee with the email address firstname.lastname@example.org could sign up automatically.
Domain sign-up can be turned on or off at any time from your account.
Please be aware that commonly shared domains (i.e. gmail.com, hotmail.com) are not eligible for domain sign-up.Visit/Rate Article
Can I convert my individual account to a Teams account?
Of course! Just sign-up for a teams account here, and your individual account will automatically be converted into a Teams account and you'll be set up as the admin of the Team.
If you are invited to join a team by someone else, your individual account will be converted to a Teams account when you accept the invitation and your administrator will start footing the bill (lucky you!).
If your individual account has an active subscription:
If you paid via credit card on our website, your card will immediately be refunded any time remaining on your individual subscription and that subscription will be cancelled.Visit/Rate Article
If you paid via PayPal, iTunes, or GooglePlay for your individual account, unfortunately, we cannot refund you automatically. However, if you get in touch with our friendly support bears, they’ll be able to sort out your account!
How do I change someone from a team member to a team administrator, or vice versa?
Only administrators can make another person an administrator.
To do so, log into your TunnelBear for Teams account. Under the Team view, find the member you want to convert to an administrator. Click 'Edit' to expand the options for that team member. There, you'll see a toggle switch to enable 'Admin Privileges'. When enabled, the team member will receive an email confirming they have been made an administrator.
If you want to change someone back to a regular member, follow the same steps to disable their 'Admin Privileges'.
If you run into any issues doing so, reach out to our Friendly Support Bears for assistance.Visit/Rate Article
Is there a limit to the number of administrators I can have?
Billing and Payments
How much does TunnelBear for Teams cost?
Can I add new team members at any time?
Throughout your TunnelBear for Teams subscription, you can add new team members at any time. Instead of paying for a full year, you’ll be charged a prorated amount based on the remaining time left in your yearly subscription.
To keep things in one simple bill, you will be billed the difference between the new team members’ start date and your annual billing date. You'll see this charge on your card the week that the new team member accepts their invitation to the team.
Here’s a quick example:
Bears Inc. set up their Team on March 1st. They have 13 members on their team and are charged $897 ($69 x 13 members).Visit/Rate Article
Two months later, 6 new people start at the company and accept an invite to TunnelBear for Teams. That week, Bears Inc. is charged a prorated amount for the 10 months remaining before their next annual billing cycle. This results in a charge of $344.81 ($57.47 x 6 members).
The following March 1st (one year after Bears Inc. set up their team), Bears Inc. is charged the full cost of all currently active team members: $1311 ($69 x 19 members).
How often does my team get charged?
Your account will be charged once per year. You can find this date on your annual invoice.
If you add any new team members after your initial yearly payment, you will be billed a prorated yearly charge for each new team member on the week that you add them to your team.
Before we charge your account, we’ll apply any credits you’ve received from deactivating team members. These credits will appear as a discount on your invoice.
If you have any questions, or if you’ve removed team members from your account and you’d like to check your credit balance, please get in touch with us.Visit/Rate Article
What happens when I remove a team member?
When you remove a team member, they will be notified that they have been removed from your team and they will have the option to convert to an individual consumer account.
As for your billing, we don't think it's fair that you should continue to pay for team members who leave part way through your yearly subscription. When you deactivate a team member, we'll credit you for their remaining subscription time. This credit will be applied to the next payment you make.Visit/Rate Article
How do I change my team payment information?
How do I print my team invoice/receipt?
Just head over to your Teams account page and click on your billing history. Once there, you can download a PDF for each billing period for your team.Visit/Rate Article
If you previously had an individual consumer account, click the link at the bottom of the page to download a collection of all previous invoices.